Wishes and Dreams

Sometimes, it is fun to wish. To be full of dreams, just like a child.

Today, I wish. But I’m not going to wish for parties and volleyball tournaments and real classrooms and real people and real hugs, the things that I was planning to have about this time.

I am going to wish for wonderful, magical things. Because it doesn’t hurt so much to not have things I never planned on having.

  • I wish I had a tame chickadee that would let me hold it whenever I wanted to.
  • While we’re on the topic of animals, I wish for a pet ostrich that I could ride (like they do in the Swiss Family Robinson), and a pika, and a dogey like Kristi’s.
  • I wish for my hands and my brain to automatically know a magnificent piano piece without me having to learn it. (Preferably Leiki Ueda’s version of “The Battle” from the Chronicles of Narnia. You should see how cool it is. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rEz0D3VohFA)
  • I wish that sometimes, I could transform the creek down the hill to the Atlantic Ocean, and its banks to the grassy cliffs of Newfoundland, and I could sit on them and soak up grace in the form of sun and wind, contemplate the power of the ocean, and watch for whales.
  • I wish that I could dance “The Landler” from The Sound of Music perfectly. (Again, without having to learn.)
  • I wish that my history book would be so riveting that I would have to promise myself only one more chapter, and that rather than rewarding myself with Real Fruit gummies when I’m finished, I would console myself with them.

Maybe wishing for such things doesn’t have a lot of purpose. But there are some dreams worth spending time longing for. There are some dreams worth planning to experience.

  • I dream of minds that are only healthy and at peace. Minds that can create and inspire and grow constantly, unhindered by lies and impurity and selfishness.
  • I dream of bodies that are whole, that can laugh, and run, and dance, and sing, and do cartwheels perfectly.
  • I dream of perfect security, where, in my interactions with people, I am completely ok with myself and with them.
  • I dream of embracing people I love, knowing that I will never have to say goodbye again.
  • I dream of not even noticing the blossoms, the diamonds, the gold, the oceans, the crowns, because I see the face of Jesus and I never want to look away.

Oh Jesus, help my unbelief. I don’t deserve for these dreams to come true. But You’ve never been about deserving.

I wish that all people would know that life is more than this crazy world.

I pray that I will dream boldly enough that my dreams and my hope are contagious.


14 thoughts on “Wishes and Dreams

  1. Keep dreaming, Kerra! I enjoyed this and it got me dreaming. We were made for another world where all God’s dreams (which are our best dreams) will be reality. COVID-19 has got me thinking more about that world.

    Wishing you the very happiest of birthdays today, Kerra!

    Like

  2. Not sure if I can reply here or not. (I cannot seem to post comments on your blog and Rich has helped me so many times already…)

    This post made me cry- with longing for these things that we were created for that someday will once again be ours- and lament for the reality we live with here. It is good to dream.

    Also, I had not heard this piece of music before. Beautiful. I will convince Kiera to learn it… 🙂

    Today is your birthday? my, I do wish I could come celebrate with you. Happiest of birthdays to you!

    On Thu, Mar 26, 2020 at 10:13 PM Realizing Provision wrote:

    > Kerra Martin posted: ” Sometimes, it is fun to wish. To be full of dreams, > just like a child. Today, I wish. But I’m not going to wish for parties and > volleyball tournaments and real classrooms and real people and real hugs, > the things that I was planning to have about this” >

    Like

  3. Dear Kerra, I loved reading about your wishes and dreams. (If I’m honest I am still wishing for parties and real hugs). But thank you for reminding us of what our hearts can really long for. I’m going to dream with you.

    Like

  4. This post is beautiful Kerra… thank you for sharing that list of dreams. Too often I fix my eyes on earthly dreams… longing for friends that live miles and miles away… aching for security and peace… it’s a good reminder to fix my eyes on heaven – the dream that will come true!

    Like

  5. I love this, Kerra! I can almost hear you speaking the words 🙂
    Some of your wishes made me smile, like the tame chickadee – when you find one, I want one, too! 🙂 But some of them made me ache – for you . . . for myself.
    “I dream of embracing people I love, knowing that I will never have to say goodbye again.”
    That almost brings tears to my eyes. I dream of that, too!
    Thank you for being real, for being who you are!

    Like

  6. Hi Kerra…..
    Thanks for sharing your “dreams”
    I am wishing you a blessed birthday today as we thank God for the gift of you!!

    Diane

    Like

Leave a comment